The Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup is known as “the race that stops the nation”.

The Melbourne Cup 2013

The Emirates Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most famous race, and has a total prize money over $6,000,000. It is the richest race on the Australasian Racing Calendar.

The Melbourne Cup thoroughbred race is a quality handicap at Flemington Racecourse for horses 3 years old and over. The thoroughbred race is run over a distance of 3,200 metres, and always is held on the first Tuesday in November.

Some facts about the Melbourne Cup


  • The most wins by a horse was Makybe Diva with 3 wins (2003, 2004, 2005).
  • There have been 6 grey horses who have won the Melbourne Cup.
  • The record winning time is 3.16.30 by Kingston Rule (1990).
  • The biggest winning margin was 8 lengths by Archer (1862) and Rain Lover (1968).
  • The most wins by a trainer is 12 – Bart Cummings (1965, 1966, 1967, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2008)
  • The heaviest weight carried by winner was Carbine (1890) with 10 stone 5 pounds (66 kg).
  • The heaviest weight carried of all time was Par Lap (1931) with 10 stone 10 pounds (73.5 kg), where he ran 8th.
  • The most runners was 39 (1890) and the fewest runners was 7 (1863).
  • No horse has ever won from barrier 18.

Last 5 winners of the Melbourne Cup

2013Fiorante5 hDamien OliverGai WaterhouseAndrew Roberts and 39 others3.20.3024
2012Green Moon6 hBrett PrebbleRobert HickmottLloyd Williams3.20.4524
2011Dunaden6 hChristophe LemaireMikel DelzanglesPearl Bloodstock Pty (Mgr. R Levitt)3.20.8423
2010Americain6 hGérald MosséAlain de Royer-DupreGerry Ryan, K. C Bamford3.26.8723
2009Shocking4 hCorey BrownMark KavanaghEales Racing Pty Ltd3.23.8723


Comments are closed.